Friday, November 13, 2009


The three amateur women who appear to be the frontrunners for USA Triathlon 2009 Athlete of the Year are Florida's Mandy McLane, Illinois' Lindsay Whalen and Minnesota's Cathy Yndestad (pictured).

These girls will face each other tomorrow (Saturday) at the 70.3 World Championships in Clearwater, Florida, and it is quite possible that the fastest member of this triumvirate will be crowned AOY. If Cathy wins the award, she will become the first Minnesota woman to do so. If she does not win, she will be named AOY Honorable Mention for the 3rd consecutive year.

Other athletes from our state who have earned post-season honors are Tony Schiller (AOY '95, Master of the Year '02), Jan Guenther (Master of the Year '99) and Kristin Miller (Duathlete of the Year '06, '05).